Go to AfricaBib home

Go to AfricaBib home AfricaBib Go to database home

bibliographic database
Previous page New search

The free AfricaBib App for Android is available here

Conference paper Conference paper Leiden University catalogue Leiden University catalogue WorldCat catalogue WorldCat
Title:Engaging 'monyomiji': bridging the governance gap in East Bank Equatoria: proceedings of the conference 26-28 November 2009, Torit
Editors:Simonse, SimonISNI
Kurimoto, EiseiISNI
City of publisher:Nairobi
Publisher:Pax Christi Horn of Africa
Geographic term:South Sudan
Subjects:local government
State-society relationship
conference papers (form)
Abstract:'Monyomiji' are corporate groups of middle-aged men, traditionally responsible for the protection of the community and the maintenance of law and order on the east bank of the Nile in the states of Eastern and Central Equatoria in South Sudan. In 2009, the Roman Catholic diocese of Torit organized a meeting of all stakeholders in good governance to discuss bridging the gap between the government and the 'monyomiji', which produced the Torit Declaration (text pp 2 and 3). The Introduction is by S. Simonse and E. Kurimoto. The Keynote address was given by O.A. Lais and was responded to by S.L. Oromo, L.N. Manir, P.O.K. Otubany and E.M. Ladu. There were addresses from the 'monyomiji' of Ikwoto, Lafon/Lopa, Torit, Juba and Magwi counties. These talks were followed by a lecture given by P.A. Nyaba, Minister of Higher Education and Research, about the government taking charge, followed by responses and a plenary discussion. These were followed by endorsements by D.O.T. Tirege, V.A. Lomilukand R. Oller. The chiefs, M.T. Ihisa (Eastern Equatorial State), M.O. Lomeri, S. Kenyi (Juba county), A. Ubur (Lafon county), B. Ohide (Torit county), M.O. Lomeri (Juba county), and A. Kwatir (Ikwoto county) then made their recommendations. The views of the women were expressed by J. Thomas, D. Disan, A. Achieng, P. Iromo and L.I. Quinto. The civil society position was expressed by M.A. Ukinbul, L.A. Onek, A.A. Abaha and P. Waga. These proceedings are followed by group conclusions and proposals. [ASC Leiden abstract]