Go to AfricaBib home

Go to AfricaBib home AfricaBib Go to database home

bibliographic database
Previous page New search

The free AfricaBib App for Android is available here

Book Book Leiden University catalogue Leiden University catalogue WorldCat catalogue WorldCat
Title:Liberalism and its discontents: social movements in West Africa
Editor:Sylla, Ndongo SambaISNI
City of publisher:Senegal
Publisher:Rosa Luxemburg Foundation
ISBN:1499324758; 9781499324754
Geographic term:West Africa
Subjects:political conditions
State-society relationship
civil society
social change
Abstract:This collective volume explores contemporary political realities in Africa through a 'social movement' lens. Detailing the nuances of social movement politics in twelve West African countries during the 2010-2013 period, the contributions present a chronicle of the socio-political struggles that have taken place in the region. The authors address questions such as: What forms do West African social movements take and what has been their political impact? Did they give rise to new ways of expression and democratic participation? Are they a response to the 'representative democracy crisis'? The numerous popular uprisings and protests in the region seem to be triggered by discontent vis-à-vis liberalism in its political and economic dimensions. In spite of their ambiguities and limitations, these struggles currently seek to remove a double disconnect: that between citizens and the 'representatives' and that between the economy and society, between what capital wants and what the people aspire to. The volume is divided into three parts: 1) The failed promise of liberalism; 2) Social movements and the quest for autonomy; 3) The ambiguities of civil society. Contributing authors: Ndongo Samba Sylla (Introduction); Ibrahim Abdullah (on Sierra Leone); Souley Adji (on Niger); Kojo Opoku Aidoo (on Ghana); Francis Akindès, Moussa Fofana and Severin Yao Kouamé (on Côte d'Ivoire); Alpha Amadou Bano Barry (on Guinea); Fernando Leonardo Cardoso and Fodé Mane (on Guinea-Bissau); Lila Chouli (on Burkina Faso); Modou Diome (on Senegal); Cláudio Alves Furtado (on Cabo Verde); George Klay Kieh Jr (on Liberia); Claus-Dieter König (on West-Africa); Issa N'Diaye (on Mali); Zekeria Ould Ahmed Salem (on Mauritania). [ASC Leiden abstract]